New governors takes oath: Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan, Bandaru Dattatreya, Arif Mohammad Khan, BS Koshyari,

by September 1, 2019 0 comments

The chief of the BJP’s Tamil Nadu BJP, Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan and former Union minister Bandaru Dattatreya are on the list of five new Governors announced by President Ram Nath Kovind today. Dr Soundararajan has been appointed the Governor of Telangana – having a separate Governor is a first for the country’s newest state. Bandaru Dattatreya has been put in charge of Himachal Pradesh, replacing Kalraj Mishra. Besides the two, former union minister Arif Mohammad Khan has been appointed the Governor of Kerala and Bhagat Singh Koshyari as the Governor of Maharashtra. Kalraj Mishra, who was the Governor of Himachal Pradesh, has been asked to replace Kalyan Singh in Rajasthan.

Mr Koshyari replaces Vidya Sagar Rao, whose five-year term came to an end. Veteran politician Arif Mohammad Khan had started his political career with the Congress, and had made the rounds of several political parties including Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party before joining the BJP. He is replacing P Sathasivam, the former chief justice of India whose five-year term came to an end.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.