4 BJP Leaders File Papers for Rajya Sabha

by June 15, 2018 0 comments

A Fact Check of Modi's AchievementsThe four ruling candidates of BJP (Bhartiya Janta Party), Dharmendra Pradhan, Thawar Chand Gehlot, Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni and one of the Congress leaders, Rajmani Patil,  filed their nomination papers from Madhya Pradesh for Rajya Sabha elections on Monday, the last date for filing nominations. The Rajya Sabha election will be held on March 23, 2018, for various seats inclusive of five seats from Madhya Pradesh. Though BJP is sure to win all the four seats, the Congress is expecting to get one seat on the basis of its member’s strength in the state assembly.

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, state BJP chief Nand Kumar Singh Chauhan, the party’s organization General Secretary Suhas Bhagat, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Narottam Mishra and other leaders were present. Pradhan and Gehlot are Union ministers while Singh and Soni are BJP office-bearers. Congress leader and former state minister Rajmani Patel filed his nomination in afternoon. The leader of the Opposition Ajay Singh, state Congress chief Arun Yadav and other leaders were present. The nomination process for electing five Rajya Sabha members from Madhya Pradesh commenced on March 5 with the issuance of notification by the Election Commission of India (ECI).

Today was the last day for filing nominations today. Scrutiny would be conducted on March 13 and candidate can give notice of withdrawal by 3 pm on March 15. In case the election is necessary, it would be conducted on March 23 from 9 am to 4 pm. Counting would be held on the same day. The election has been necessitated as five seats in Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh would be rendered vacant after the tenure of Thawar Chand Gehlot, La Ganesan, Prakash Javadekar, Meghraj Jain from BJP and Satyavrat Chaturvedi of Congress ends on April 2.

Since no other candidate is expected to file nomination, announcement of unopposed election is likely to be made on March 15 after the deadline for withdrawal ends.

Writer: Staff Reporter

Courtesy: The Pioneer

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.